On her blog Cupcakes and Cashmere, Angeleno Emily Schuman features a column titled “Five Things.” I like the simplicity of the idea, with no pressure to build up my thought process or incorporate smooth transitions. So here it goes….

1. Peach and Cornmeal Upside-Down Cake – Martha Stewart + Abridged Recipe. Can any of our skillets work in the oven? 2. I will not give up my dream of a lovely back “patio” party. Here and Here

3. My CMC friend Aisha and her fiance have apparently been traveling in Colombia. Here’s a great pic of “wax palms” in Valle de Cocora. If the link doesn’t go through, check out this Lonely Planet post
4. Maison Giraud croissants. I was on OKCupid for a hot second last night and came across a 6’2″ 24 yr old Frenchman in SM. Maybe he’d fancy a conversation session with LA’s best croissants?
5. I figured out what Transition Mar Vista is – it’s a branch of the larger Transition movement which aims to transition us off of oil dependency. Who wudda thunk it?